10 Things Only A Craft Fanatic Would Understand


I absolutely love crafts. I love unleashing the artist in me and allowing my imagination to run wild. And I know that I’m not the only one. having spoken to lots of people who are into crafting like me, I’ve come to realise that us creative types have a lot of traits and habits in common…

1. WASTE NOT WANT NOT

sequin-fabric-swatches

 

I collect the bows from chocolate boxes; tissue paper from gifts, and I keep buttons and beads that have fallen off clothes. To some people this is just waste that needs to be binned but to me these are bits and bobs that will come in handy. They all become part of my collection of craft materials which I really appreciate because they have come to the rescue on more than one occasion.

I remember when one bride had left it until the last minute to place an order for two flower girl baskets. I just had one weekend to complete them using silk flowers but here was the problem: she wanted them in fuschia which isn’t a colour that is often requested and I knew I wouldn’t have many flowers in that particular shade.

So I dipped into my trusty collection of oddments and came up with some scraps of fuschia coloured tulle, a fairly long bit of ribbon and a small bunch of silk flowers which I was given as a sample. I thankfully had just enough for two baskets much to the amusement of my sister who laughed at my ‘box of junk.’

2. BOXED GIFTS? NO THANK YOU!

1926875_1479856348899269_3655285118662300245_n

OK, so Jo Malone candles may be all the rage but your friends know better than to buy you any because they know that you would prefer to make the candles yourself… and your own chocolates… and your own soaps… and your own jewellery… so what do you get a girl (or guy) who’s into putting their hands to creative good use? A session at a craft workshop of course!

Next weekend I will be making good use of the voucher I was given for my last birthday and I will be attending a perfume-making workshop so right now I’m busy thinking about all the scents I like. There are tons of workshops and classes available for a variety of crafts. It’s a really unique and thoughtful gift and one that your crafts-mad friend will love.

3. THINKING OUTSIDE THE CRAFT BOX

10150779_1479856222232615_8232928847376351616_n

My dream isn’t have a massive house, or drive a Ferrari or even have a collection of Jimmy Choo shoes. All I want is my very own craft room. I’d love a light and airy, spacious work area with enough space to create new masterpieces. It’d contain just about every type of craft material, equipment and gadget so I could try my hand at any project.

That’s the dream…

4. NOTHING GETS THROWN AWAY

Image from pinterest.com
Image from pinterest.com

You have a rip in an item of clothing? You simply just patch it up and add embellishments and it looks better than before. Wooden coffee table falling to pieces? After mending it, it gets revamped and looks like a whole new table. Nothing ever really gets chucked out because you really enjoy fixing it and turning it into a work of art.

5. YOU KNOW WHERE IT’S AT

Lost Crafts by Una McGovern

There isn’t a craft store you have heard of, a craft book or magazine you haven’t read of or a craft site you don’t know about. When I first seriously got into crafting, I used to sit at the computer for hours finding craft sites and purchasing all kinds of wonderful items from them. And Sunday used to be the day I’d get on the bus and go around town looking for craft shops – and I’d never come back empty handed.

Last year my husband and I went to Edinburgh for a week long break when we stumbled across a very quaint looking craft store. We went in for a browse… and left with a bag of goodies!

6. YOU’VE GOT THE BASIC KNOW-HOW

Sainsbury's
Sainsbury’s

You understand how to convert measurements more than the average person; you know what an embossing tool looks like, you know how to use a glue gun; you know your emerald green from your forest green and you can talk fabrics like a pro!

7. WHEN OTHERS SEE AN EMPTY JAM JAR READY FOR THE RECYCLING…

imagesV91V13JL

… You see a container for the new batch of jams, chutneys or marmalades you plan to give as gifts; storage for your craft bits and pieces; a drinking glass for your homemade brew, and if decorated well, a new candle holder.

That’s how you think like a crafter!

8. CRAFTS BEAUTIFUL, POPULAR CRAFTS, MOLLY MAKES…

popular-craft-magazine

You can barely see the flooring in your house because it’s strewn with all of this months craft magazines which you love flicking through for inspiration for new projects and to find out what’s new in the world of crafts.

9. WHY STOP AT ONE CRAFT?

Image from peggyporschen.com

We may all have a favourite craft but at one time or another we’ve all dabbled in lots of different ones. I’m known for being a florist, but I’ve also tried my hand at paper crafts, soap making, designing gift baskets, and confectionary. One of my friends is a candle maker and cross stitch whizz, while my father-in-law, despite being known for his amazing woodwork, has also created things out of glass and leather.

10. YOU’RE A HAPPY LITTLE BUNNY!

1024px-Smiley_svg

A friend of mine once told me that being a florist suited me to the ground because I was such a happy person. Well I don’t know about that – I have my moments like everyone else but it’s true that crafts really do bring out the best in me and I’m happiest when I’m getting stuck into one of my projects. I know a lot of other crafters are the same and that probably explains why the three years I spent at flower school were three amazing years because I was among like-minded people who loved getting crafty – and boy did we have a laugh (there was the odd row but mainly we laughed!)

imagesWHCHZTAW

4 thoughts on “10 Things Only A Craft Fanatic Would Understand

    1. Thank you Jenny! I have about a hundred and one projects waiting for me. I really do love crafts but there aren’t enough hours in the day. But when I do get around to it, I really make the most of it xx

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

